AVATARIUM - Avatarium

Released on: 2013-11-12

AVATARIUM has only been “alive” for about 8 months, but already is the word spreading rapidly about this unique band and it’s special blend of heavy adventurous music. JETHRO TULL, BLUE ÖYSTER CULT, BLACK SABBATH, RAINBOW... It’s all there together with some delicate moments of beauty and frailness that you rarely find in a band these days. In AVATARIUMS music you will also hear tangents of pop and 60’s influences.

It all began last winter when Leif needed help to demo a couple of songs he was working on, and Marcus offered to help. Weeks turned into months and a few songs became a full length album that is being mixed as we speak by well known Swedish engineer Ronny Lahti. AVATARIUM the album, will be out November 22.

‘Moonhorse’, ‘Boneflower’ and the SABBATH cover ‘War Pigs’ are the first lifesigns from AVATARIUM, that will form a 12” maxi, released on Nuclear Blast September 20, 2013.

The daydreams of a little boy shapes the monumental ‘Moonhorse’ that clocks in at about 9 minutes, and the song ‘Boneflower’, about a forest where lovers go when they commit suicide, will probably be the first single/video. The third offering is a laid back, stripped down, acoustic version of ‘War Pigs’. Wonderfully sung by Jennie-Ann.

Jennies voice is perfect for AVATARIUM…deep, bluesy…and with a special timbre that will make your neckhairs stand on end when you listen to songs like ‘Bird of Prey’ or ‘Lady in the Lamp’. There’s also nice keyboard work from Carl Westholm here also. He plays the theremin and gorgeous mellotrons, amongst other thrilling sounds and noises….

A band need a drummer and here we find Lars Sköld, good friend of Leif and a skinbeater extraordinarie. Check out the fantastic drumfill at the end of ‘Moonhorse’ or the groove in ‘Pandoras Egg’ and you’ll now what I’m talking about.

If you think AVATARIUM is a band with young untried musicians, you are very wrong. Plenty of road wear here! Leif has of course been writing and playing with CANDELMASS (and KRUX) since the dawn of time and Marcus has played guitar with acts as EVERGREY and ROYAL HUNT. Dr Carl is the man behind cool prog bands like JUPITER SOCIETY and CARP TREE and Lars is behind the drums in TIAMAT when not in AVATARIUM. Together with Jennie-Ann these guys make an unbeatable unit that will stop for nothing!

Track list Total runtime
1 - Moonhorse 8:43
2 - Pandora's Egg 6:09
3 - Avatarium 8:10
4 - Boneflower 5:24
5 - Bird of Prey 6:37
6 - Tides Of Telepathy 7:11
7 - Lady In The Lamp 6:57

Back to bands
Quick access