In The Arms Of Devastation


KATAKLYSM - In The Arms Of Devastation

Released on: 2006-02-21

The Kings of Northern Hyperblast wears the crown once more with pride: “In The Arms Of Devastation” is a monster of an album that strongly reaffirms KATAKLYSM´S pole position in the world of extreme Metal.

Produced by the man himself, KATAKLYSM guitarist J-F Dagenais, “In The Arms Of Devastation” received its accolade through the mixing of mastermind Tue Madsen at the Danish Antfarm Studios. Their 8th album shows the band at its best after a long journey of evolution through the folds of all things brutal, technical, extreme and, most of all, heavy!
All the trademarks we love so much about KATAKLYSM bare their teeth in the indeed devastating nine tracks of “In The Arms Of Devastation”. “Like Angels (Weeping The Dark)” is a killer of an opener and guaranteed to tear the whole place to pieces, whilst the slow, grinding and almost doomy “Crippled And Broken” is the tank that will flatten the remains of the wreckage. Definitely a must for future KATAKLYSM live sets!!! “It Turns To Rust” is a first in the band’s history: the first time vocalist Maurizio Iacono has ever recorded a duet for KATAKLYSM.

Together with KITTIE singer Morgan Lander he turns the track into a fierce duel loaded with screams and growls from hell. A lesson in violence – just like the whole album, so prepare for total devastation, prepare for the return of the mighty KATAKLYSM! Founded 1991 in Canada, KATAKLYSM started their battle for the top spot with the now classic EP "The Mystical Gate Of Reincarnation" as their first offical release on Nuclear Blast records in 1994. The critically acclaimed follow-ups "Sorcery" (1995) and "Temple Of Knowledge" (1996) left the Death Metal scene breathless with its brutal yet technical and sophisticated approach. The band continued to release top quality records like 1998's "Victims Of This Fallen World" and 2000's "The Prophecy". It seemed 2001 was the year that brought the most changes for the band: „EPIC: The Poetry Of War“ combined KATAKLYSM´S brutal side and their trademark blastbeats with brilliant hooks and melodies – the hit anthem „Manipulator Of Souls“ proofs just that. The now classic "Shadows & Dust" album saw the KATAKLYSM fanbase grow even bigger: the video for the catchy title track "In Shadows & Dust" gained KATAKLYSM the title as the first Death Metal band to be featured on the return of MTV America's „Headbanger`s Ball“.

2004 was nothing short of a phenomenal year for KATAKLYSM with the release of the band`s 7th album, "Serenity In Fire". The guys crushed everything on the North American tour with the legendary DANZIG and also on their first headlining tour in the fall of the same year. Triumphal festival shows and winning the Canadian Indie Music Awards completed a highly successful year in the band`s history.

KATAKLYSM have achieved leader status and have proved– just like good wine - aging can be a good thing!

Track list Total runtime
1 - Like Angels Weeping (The Dark) 4:27
2 - Let Them Burn 3:19
3 - Crippled & Broken 4:32
4 - To Reign Again 4:25
5 - It Turns To Rust 4:04
6 - Open Scars 4:06
7 - Temptation´s Nest 3:46
8 - In Words Of Desperation 5:10
9 - The Road To Devastation 7:14
Back to bands
Quick access